Premier Cyber Savings

Up to 60% Off an Authentic Playa del Carmen Resort Thru 12/17/18!

0
Days
0
Hours
0
Minutes
0
Seconds

Reviews & Testimonials for Mahekal Beach Resort

What Guests are Saying About Their Experiences at Playa del Carmen's Authentic Oceanfront Resort

The impeccable amenities and beachfront accommodations at Mahekal Beach Resort are not complete without incredible guest experiences. Find out what guests are saying about their stays and celebrations at Playa del Carmen's premier oceanfront resort, from destination weddings and honeymoons to family vacations and more. Read reviews for Mahekal Beach Resort from travelers on TripAdvisor, Facebook, Travelocity, and more! 


“Total relaxation”

We spent 10 nights at Mahekal. We just chilled but if you want shopping and night clubs it is close by in abundance. We were so relaxed and did not worry about a thing. We went to all the pools and had amazing food and cocktails. Walking along 5th can be fun and entertaining and if you head north on 5th it turns to total solitude. Great for a run or bike ride. The staff is so friendly. They make you feel like they really care about you and your experience. The Mayans are wonderful warm people. The resort is set away from all the people and is very tranquil. You feel pampered and in paradise. We ate at Fuego almost every night. The staff there is beyond amazing. Fabiola -Rene- Ruben- Emanuel were exceptional. They made every evening there so delightful. We can never thank Rene enough for taking such good care of us every night and going above and beyond. So to everyone at the resort and especially those that made our experience so special we say DIOSBOTIK. .

TripAdvisor reviewer - February 2018


“Amazing! Can't rate it highly enough!”

We had a week at Mahekal at the beginning of Dec and it is without doubt one of the best places we've ever stayed. Everything about it was brilliant. It's got a real boutique, chilled feel to it, so if you don't like the super huge, tacky all inclusive places this is perfect. It was pretty quiet the first half of the week, which made it even better! Highlights: - 3/4 great pools to choose from. We especially love the infinity pool by the beach - great service, comfy beds and amazing views - The space - the beach houses are spread out within lush gardens, so it's a beautiful setting and even when it's full it doesn't seem it - The beach bungalows open straight onto the sand, so you can lay in your hammock with a drink and watch the ocean (pure heaven) - The rooms were amazingly clean and tastefully decorated. We loved the straw roofs, rainforest showers and the beds are huge and really comfy - The food at Fuego was fantastic - we had breakfast and lunch in there everyday. We don't like all inclusive / buffet type places so we avoided the dinner restaurants on site and opted for the amazing mexican breakfasts and fresh lunches at Fuego. I had ceviche for lunch nearly every day. I couldn't get enough of it. We walked into Playa in the evening (5 min walk to 5th ave) for dinner - 121 cocktails between 5 and 6 - what's not to like? Decent cocktails not the slush you sometimes get at hotels - The staff couldn't do enough for you, especially Enrique, Fidal, Jesus, Elias, David and the team at Fuego breakfast - they were absolutely brilliant and just made the holiday for us. Such a lovely bunch! - The hotel organised a private transfer from Cancun airport for us, which was quick and easy - totally stress free - The beach and sea where amazingly clean and great for swimming As a rule we never go back to the same place twice as we like to travel to new places, but I think we'd break this rule for Mahekal. It was pure heaven and we absolutely loved every minute.

TripAdvisor reviewer - January 2018


“I come back year after year!”

Mahekal is our families favorite place in Playa! I have been traveling to the region for years & have stayed in all levels of hotels. Hotel Mahekal has preserved the feel of old-school Playa while adding beautiful new updates. A rustic cabana experience with the feel of being right on the beach with the natural setting & gardens along all the pathways. My mother loves the beachfront cabanas where she can hear the ocean from the room & literally walk a few steps to her palapa. But what we fell in love with the most is the service & the staff at Mahekal. A stand out is Rogelio who befriended my mother years ago with his kind and honest nature. She is now 75 & has been more limited in her travel due to her health. She dreams of the day she returns to her favorite spot on the beach at Mahekal. I continue to visit every year on medical mission trips to the region. I make sure to squeeze in time for breakfast at Mahekal to experience the amazing view & to see our friend Rogelio. Will be there next in February!

TripAdvisor reviewer - January 2018 


“Best vacation I’ve ever been on”

I have nothing but good things to say about this resort. The views are beautiful, the rooms clean, the staff EXCELLENT. I had the pleasure of meeting and interacting with the morning staff at El Fuego daily during breakfast. The food was amazing, fresh, and the staff so attentive, down to earth, and friendly. Enrique, Jesus, Fidel, Elias, and David made us feel so welcome. I was impressed at how quickly they came to our table, brought us what we asked for (and then some!), answered questions about the area, and were very patient as I tried to practice my Spanish (my personal favorite part was getting to chat with them daily). Enrique even remembered our names and how I liked my eggs cooked! Muchas gracias senors! Another favorite of ours was the ice cream booth. We had the pleasure of visiting it twice during our stay and Cesar was very friendly, attentive, and also was able to answer questions about the area and places we wanted to go. The ice cream is very delicious, too! Don’t even think about going anywhere else, the staff here exceeded my expectations and are what make this place feel so amazing.

TripAdvisor reviewer - January 2018 


“Enjoy!! A great place to stay!”

We really enjoyed our stay at the Mahekal Resort. The grounds and facilities are very well kept, the staff friendly and helpful, great beach, nice pools, and good eats and drinks on the grounds. Be sure to ask for the bar tender Chicken Little and order the Martini El Pastor at Fuego, its awesome. We had a Jungle view room on the top level. It was a very comfortable room and the pitched roofs make the room feel very open. Each unit has hammocks on the patio or balcony, a great place to hang out and read a book. The location is just a few blocks off 5th and near some of the best restaurants and bars in Playa. On-site there is a craft hut where you can design you own ceramic or wood plate, bowl, etc. After you paint the design, they glaze and kiln your piece and you can pick it up the next day. It was fun, high quality, turned out great, and cost just a few pesos. One of our favorite things was Rogelio greeting us for breakfast everyday, not only do you get 5 star service but he is genuinely warm and friendly, who can bring smile to your face even after the latest nights out ;) Be sure to ask for him if you go to the buffet Las Olas.

Trip Advisor reviewer - February 2017


“Amazing destination wedding”

I held my destination wedding at Mahekal in October. It was beautiful and Karla (the wedding coordinator) made sure that everything was absolutely perfect! Friends and family loved the resort and many have already booked trips to go back. Great location and excellent service. I would definitely recommend to anyone considering a trip to Playa del Carmen.

Trip Advisor reviewer - February 2017


“Mahekal is our favorite vacation destination”

This was our third trip to Mahekal Beach Resort. Every time is better than the last! The people are the most genuine, authentic, and nicest we have ever experienced. Nicholas and his staff at Fuego - Rogelio, Rubicel , Manuel, Jared, Jesus, Elias, Enrique, Alberto, & Fidel are top-notch servers and exceptional people overall! On the beach, where we basked with our constant supply of tortilla chips, guacamole and Pico de Gallo and drinks all 8 days, Manuel, Mariano, Manolo & Gilberto were always right on call. At the Spa, Ruby and Martha were peaceful & gentle souls who scrubbed and massaged and soothed our beings for the Terra Maya, the Aroma and the Rostro de sol. Lovely place, phenomenal jacuzzi. The landscaping, the pools, the palapas, all three restaurants, the beachfront . . . all of it, just the best. I cannot recommend this resort enough. Everyone should just go here. Truly, you'll not regret it!

Stephanie F - February 2017 

<